Saturday, June 22, 2024
Ignite the mind.

Hon. Ukodhiko Gains Traction into Reps Adhoc Committee Upon Plenary Resumption

While Debate Rages over the selecation of Principal Officers of the Senate, Hon. Ukodhiko Jonathan Ajirioghene Gains Traction in the Green Chambers of the #NASS.

By Ejiro Umukoro

The first Plenary Session today following resumption at the National Assembly’s Green Chambers witnessed Honourable Ukodhiko Jonathan Ajirioghene, Member Representing Isoko North and South Federal Constituency House of Representative hit the ground running as he was nominated and appointed into the Adhoc Committee for Investigation Hearings.

Hon. Ukodhiko Jonathan Ajirioghene, Member Representing Isoko South Constituency on his First Day of Resumption following Sallah Celebration. PC: Ejiro Umukoro.

This followed the announcement of principal officers by the Speaker, Hon. Tajudeen Abass. He said, “There is an array of experienced hands within and outside the National Assembly you can rely on. Your success as a legislator is largely dependent on the quality of your legislative Aides as well as the legislative bureaucrats.” He also said as a citizens’ parliament, the 10th House will engage all members to get their inputs in developing the House Legislative Agenda for the next four years. He urged members to consider competence, capacity, and experience in choosing their legislative aides.

During the plenary’s consideration for other motions, the house resolve to intervene between the headquarters at the police service commission over police recruitment exercise as well as the need to commence high level diploma engagement towards charge basis. In addition, Ahmed Munir, member house of Rep (Kaduna State)said, “We have also opened up more opportunities for enhanced national security.”

Meanwhile, Member representing Owan East/Owan West Federal Constituency of Edo, Prof Julius Ihonvbere has emerged the Majority Leader of the 10th House of Representatives with Hon. Kingsley Chinda, a PDP) lawmaker from Rivers State representing Obio/Akpor emerge the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives. While the member representing Ankpa/Omala/Olamaboro Federal Constituency of Kogi State, Abdullahi Ibrahim Halims was named the deputy majority leader.

Principal Officers and Legislative Members step out from Chambers, following first plenary on resumption. PC: Ejiro Umukoro.

Abbas named Ali Madaki of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) from Dala federal constituency of Kano State as the deputy minority leader.

The speaker named Bello Usman Kumo, representing Akko federal constituency of Gombe as the chief whip; and Adewunmi Oriyomi Onanuga, representing Ikenne/Sagamu/Remo North Federal constituency in Ogun, as the deputy chief whip.

Ali Isa of PDP was named minority whip; while George Ebizimawo of Labour Party was announced as deputy minority whip.

The Speaker, was quick to point out that the 10th House of Representatives will grapple with capacity challenges among members as they settle down for legislative business during his speech at resumption of plenary after its recess for the Sallah celebration. Explaining that such capacity challenges were due to the high rate of legislative turnover, highest since 1999.

Hon. Ukodhiko Jonathan Ajirioghene keeping in touch with members of his Constituencies. PC: Ejiro Umukoro.

On the other hand, at the Senate, disaffection followed the announcement of principal officers named by the Senate President Godswill Akpabio, and his Deputy as the PDP distances itself from the nomination processes many claim lack due process and participation of elected representatives to nominate their preferred principal officers.

In the majority caucus of the senate, Akpabio named Opeyemi Bamidele as Majority Leader, David Umahi as Deputy Majority Leader, Mohammed Ali Ndume as Senate Majority Whip and Lola Ashiru, the only female principal officer on the list as Deputy Majority Whip

House adjourned plenary to Wednesday 5th July 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *